2014 NZ Freestyle Kayak Nationals

The NZ Freestyle Kayak National Championships are set to be hosted by Central Otago Whitewater alongside the NZ Slalom Championships at the Hawea Whitewater Park on the 29th/30th of March.

Due to balancing times with the Slalom Nationals the competition will be spread across three rides on each of the two features (6 rides total) with your lowest score on each feature able to be dropped. Wave competition is on Saturday afternoon. The top hole will be used on Sunday morning (and available for training on Saturday).

Cost for the weekend is $25 including NZEWW membership for 2014. If NZEWW membership is already paid through Extreme Race Series or Secondary Schools Freestyle entry will be $15.

This should be a great weekend of kayaking on the Hawea. For information on the Slalom events visit www.slalomnz.org.nz and for freestyle nationals www.nzextremewhitewater.com

2014 NZ Secondary Schools Slalom & Freestyle Champs

Central Otago Whitewater, the Southland Canoe Club and Dunstan High School, as event hosts, invite you to come along to a wonderful week of paddling in the Southern region.

The NZ Secondary Schools Whitewater Champs is the pinnacle event for many junior whitewater kayakers. Secondary school students from all over NZ will be joined bythe Australian junior development squad to contest the various kayak and canoe slalom, DR and Freestyle events.

2014 NZ Slalom Nationals

NZ Canoe Slalom Nationals -  2014

When: March 28-30, 2014 (Practice day, March 27)
Where: Hawea Whitewater Park, Camp Hill Rd, Hawea. The Hawea Whitewater Park is a purpose built facility located on the Hawea River at Camp Hill Bridge close to the resort towns of Wanaka and Lake Hawea. Constructed in late 2012, the park provides two river-
wide waves for kayakers, river surfers and others to enjoy.

How to get there: If flying into Queenstown, follow SH6 past Cromwell and Luggate. Just before Wanaka turn right (follow signs to West Coast) still on SH6. About half way between Alberttown and Hawea turn right up Camp Hill Rd until you reach the bridge. Car parks are located on both sides of the bridge. Travel time from Queenstown to Hawea wave about 90 minutes.

Entry Fee: Early bird special of $50 for all registrations paid by 28/2/14. Registrations paid after this date will cost $60. Entries can be made online on the Canoe Slalom NZ website and payment made by direct credit into 2014 Nationals 03-1733-0002139-25. Please put your name in the Reference field.

Accommodation: There are many accommodation options available in nearby Wanaka and Lake Hawea, ranging from
budget accommodation in holiday parks, to apartment, hotel and motel units.


Contact Energy NZ Freestyle Champs - Results

Saturday - Contact Energy NZ Freestyle Kayak Championships 2013

Under 15 Boys
    1st - Otis Rayner, Alexandra
    2nd - Jack Paulin, Alexandra
    3rd - Jeremy Norbury, Alexandra
Under 18 Boys
    1st - Max Rayner, Alexandra
    2nd - Stephen Bartlett, Queenstown
    3rd - Hank Bilous, Wanaka
U15 Girls
    1st Place - Lotte Rayner, Alexandra
Under 18 Girls
    1st Place - Emily McGimpsey, Alexandra
    2nd Place - Jessica Bailey, Wanaka
    3rd Place - Robin Pieper, Alexandra
Veteren Mens
    1st Place - Pete Simpson, Hawea Flat
    2nd Place - Aidan Haig, Oamaru
    3rd Place - Gordon Rayner, Alexandra
Open Men
    1st Place - Robert Hervey, Murchison/Alexandra
    2nd Place - Brendan Bayly, Rotorua
    3rd Place - Dylan Thomson, Wanaka
Open Women
    Overall 1st Place - Claire O'Hara, Great Britain
    2nd Place - Courtney Kerin (and 1st NZer)
    3rd Place - Polly Green, Rotorua (2nd NZer)
    4th Place - Marnie Fornasek, Auckland (3rd NZer)

Sunday - Contact Energy NZ Freestyle Kayak Team Trials.

    The * means they have qualified for the NZ team to compete at the ICF Freestyle World Championships in the USA in September.

Junior Women
    1st Place - Jessica Bailey, Wanaka *
    2nd Place - Robin Pieper, Alexandra *
    3rd Place - Emily McGimpsey, Alexandra
Junior Men
    1st Place - Stephen Bartlett, Queenstown *
    2nd Place - Max Rayner, Alexandra *
    3rd Place - Hank Bilous, Wanaka *
Open Women
    1st Place - Claire O'Hara, Great Britain
    2nd Place - Courtney Kerin, Oamaru (First NZer) *
    3rd Place - Polly Green, Rotorua (2nd NZer) *
    4th Place - Beth Morgan, Great Britain
Open Men
    1st Place - Jason Searle, Cromwell *
    2nd Place - Robert Hervey, Murchison/Alexandra *
    3rd Place - Mike Hoffman, Gore *
    4th Place - Aidan Haig, Oamaru *
    5th Place - Matt Burton, Turangi *